Getting charged with DWI could be a traumatizing experience. If you get convicted, the consequences are real. What is a DWI charge? If you are driving your car and an on-duty officer suspects that you are inebriated, they may ask you to take a Breathalyzer test. If the BAC (short for Blood Alcohol Concentration) is 0.08 or higher, you could be charged with DWI. DWI and DUI are the same in New Jersey. No matter the circumstances, you should consider hiring a New Jersey DWI Attorney at the soonest to know your rights. In this post, we are sharing answers related to DWI laws in the state.
What if a person is high but has not consumed alcohol?
If you were under the influence of illegal drugs, you could still be charged with DWI. You may pass the Alcotest, but the police may still decide to test your blood or urine to find traces of drugs. Can you refuse these tests? Yes, you can, but the police may come back with a warrant for the blood test. Underage drivers often face tougher consequences; even with a BAC of 0.01 percent, they could face DWI charges.
What are the consequences of DWI Conviction in NJ?
The answer largely depends on how “drunk” you were. If this is your first DWI Conviction and the BAC was less than 0.10 percent, you may face imprisonment of up to 30 days, a fine of up to $400, suspension of your driving license, or attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). If your BAC was over 0.10, the fines increase, and you may lose your license for up to seven months.
For a second DWI conviction, the fines could be as high as $1,000, or you could face imprisonment for up to 90 days. Your driver’s license could be suspended for up to two years too. For further DWI convictions, the consequences are higher.
Should you hire an attorney?
The quick answer would be yes. While you can choose to present your case, this is not something worth risking. DWI laws in New Jersey are complex, and when compared to many other states, the penalties are rather severe. If you get convicted, this could impact your driving career and many aspects of life. Consider talking to a DWI defense lawyer at the earliest to know the legal options and the best defense you can consider.
DWI defense lawyers in NJ usually charge an hourly rate, and you can ask for an estimate in advance.